fbpx
High-tech

A Blind Legend

It was always going to be a big ask to design a free action-adventure mobile game, with no visuals, that users play using their headphones and mobile phone as a controller, aimed both at visually challenged people as a wider public looking for a fun new sensory experience. But that’s the challenge that Lyons-based video game studio Dowino set itself in 2015. And they rose to it with aplomb.

Behind a highly original project

Located in Villeurbanne, near Lyons, France, Dowino is an independent studio specializing in ‘serious games’, those games or mobile apps designed to raise public awareness about public health issues, sustainable development, social responsibility and garner support for other causes.

Studio co-founder and video game producer, Nordine Ghachi remembers how the project came about from the idea of “putting the player in the position of a blind person” and “making a person often presented as fragile, into a fighter with special powers, like a superhero”.

As the project developed, another point came to light: most games designed for people with visual impairments offered a linear experience, much like that of an audio book in which the player is the lead character, with lots of text read aloud, very little free exploration and even less action. This kind of video game was clearly of limited interest to the wider public.

a-blind-legend-banniere-logo

A video game for both sighted and visually impaired gamers

The goal became to develop a real action-adventure game, with a solid narrative, that was easy to get into, with intuitive playability designed for a wide gaming audience. Nordine is proud to say that families have since been in touch to say that family members who were gamers before they lost their sight, have been able to rediscover the pleasure of playing through A Blind Legend.

Co-produced by French radio station France Culture, the video game’s production was also made possible thanks to the success of a crowdfunding campaign on the site Ulule. Over a thousand contributors donated money, creating a loyal community of followers for a project that was also supported by the Fédération de Aveugles de France (French Federation of Blind People), playing an active part in helping to develop the video game.

THE TECH CHALLENGE OF REPLACING SIGHT WITH SOUND

Set in the medieval world with an edge of fantasy that will be familiar to gaming fans, in A Blind Legend players pit their wits as Edward Blake, a blind knight who is guided by the voice of his daughter, Louise and the sounds around him. During a perilous epic journey, he must field fights and encounters, cross villages and forests, and climb mountains and towers, amongst other challenges, to find his wife, who has been kidnapped by a mad king and his army.

The video game deprives gamers completely of their sight, usually a player’s main tool. The rush of a river coming ever closer, the whispers of Louise in his ear, the acceleration of a galloping horse and the sound of an enemy’s sword passing just above his head, are so many sounds that the production team tried to recreate as faithfully as possible. The technological challenge at the heart of the video game, was to make the audio experience immersive and convincing.

a-blind-legend-bloc-banniere-texte

© Dowino 2014

What is binaural sound?

The idea of using binaural sound, also known as 3D sound, came to Nordine in 2007, when he discovered a video in which the listener took on the role of a client in a hairdressing salon. “With the aid of nothing more than stereo headphones, I felt the scissors and shaver passing over and around my head and along my temples, the sensation was incredible!”.

The idea behind binaural sound, is to spatialize sound so as to give the listener the impression of being in the middle of a scene, by reconstructing the varying levels of sound intensity depending on distance, position (left or right), and localization (above, below, in front or behind). The binaural technique aims to recreate a close reproduction of natural hearing, based on the physiological characteristics of human hearing. The reproduced sound picture is then understood by the brain as being three-dimensional, meaning that we use the brain just as much as the ears, to hear in 3D.

Some researchers have found the roots of the idea in the 1881 invention of the ‘theatrophone’, by the engineer Clément Ader, which offered subscribed listeners a chance to hear the opera at the Opéra Garnier in Paris, with an earpiece on each ear that relayed sound from the two different sides of the stage. If the origins of the idea go back to the late 19th century, a lot of progress has been made since and the large majority of sounds created for the video game, mainly thanks to a contest on the radio station France Culture – a binaural specialist – were digitally treated with algorithms designed to spatialize real-time sound.

 

© Dowino 2014

Challenge completed?

As an original and absorbing new video game,A Blind Legend has met with critical success both in France and internationally for depriving the player of his or her visual touchpoints and offering a brand-new sensory experience, as well as raising awareness amongst the general public of what it’s like to be visually impaired. All dialog has been recorded in English and the game is available on Apple Store, Google Play Store and Steam. Downloaded more than a million times to date, the video game has seen great success with the public and remains a reference in binaural sound gaming. And for a small, independent studio, that’s a great achievement.

High - tech

A Blind Legend

Concevoir un vrai jeu mobile gratuit d’action-aventure, sans image, jouable en se munissant de simples écouteurs et d’un téléphone en guise de manette et qui s’adresserait autant aux non-voyants qu’à un public plus large désireux de vivre une expérience sensorielle et ludique inédite : c’est ce défi ambitieux dans lequel s’est lancé en 2015 Dowino, un studio de création lyonnais de jeux vidéo.

La genèse d’un projet original

Situé à Villeurbanne, Dowino est un studio indépendant spécialisé dans les serious games, ces jeux ou applications mobiles qui visent à sensibiliser et former le public à des thématiques de santé publique, de développement durable, de responsabilité sociale ou encore de solidarité.

Nordine Ghachi, co-fondateur du studio et réalisateur du jeu se souvient que l’idée du projet est née de « la volonté de mettre le joueur à la place d’un non-voyant » mais aussi de « faire d’une personne qu’on présente volontiers comme fragile un combattant doté de pouvoirs hors du commun, une sorte de super héros ».

Durant la genèse du projet, un autre constat s’imposait : la plupart des jeux s’adressant aux déficients visuels offrait une expérience linéaire assez comparable à un roman audio dont vous êtes le héros avec beaucoup de textes lus et au final peu de phases d’exploration libre et encore moins de phases d’action. Ce type de jeu n’offrait clairement qu’un intérêt limité pour le grand public.

a-blind-legend-banniere-logo

Un jeu pour les « gamers » voyants et non-voyants

L’objectif était alors de développer un véritable jeu d’action-aventure doté d’un scénario solide, à la prise en main facile et à la jouabilité intuitive, destiné aussi à un large public de « gamers ». C’est d’ailleurs une des fiertés de Nordine lorsque des familles lui ont fait part de leur retour sur le jeu en évoquant le cas de proches qui « étaient des « gamers » avant de perdre la vue et ont repris du plaisir à jouer grâce à Blind Legend ».

Coproduit par France Culture, la réalisation du jeu a été également rendue possible grâce la réussite décisive d’une campagne de financement participatif lancée sur le site Ulule. Réunissant au final plus d’un millier de contributeurs, cette campagne a permis de fédérer une communauté active autour d’un projet logiquement soutenue par la Fédération de Aveugles de France qui a activement participé au développement du jeu.

Le défi technologique d’un jeu où l’ouïe remplace la vue

Inscrit dans un univers médiéval teinté de fantastique qui ne déboussolera pas les habitués du genre, A Blind Legend vous propose d’incarner Edward Blake un chevalier aveugle qui sera guidé tout au long de l’épopée par la seule voix de sa fille Louise et les sons environnants. Au cours d’un parcours épique et périlleux, il devra multiplier les combats, les rencontres et parcourir villages, forêts, montagnes, donjons et autres lieux pour retrouver sa femme enlevée par un roi fou et son armée.

Le jeu vous prive donc totalement de la vue, principal repère habituel dans les jeux vidéo. Entendre les ruissellements d’une rivière se rapprocher, les chuchotements de Louise à son oreille, les accélérations d’un cheval au galop ou encore l’épée d’un ennemi passant au-dessus de sa tête sont autant de sensations que les développeurs se devaient de retranscrire le plus fidèlement possible. Le défi technologique au cœur du jeu était donc de rendre l’expérience auditive immersive et convaincante.

a-blind-legend-bloc-banniere-texte

© Dowino 2014

Qu’est-ce que le son binaural ?

L’idée d’utiliser le son binaural (également appelé son 3D) est venue à Nordine lorsqu’il a découvert en 2007 une vidéo dans laquelle l’auditeur se mettait dans la peau d’un client d’un salon de coiffure : « avec un simple casque stéréo, je sentais les ciseaux et la tondeuse passer autour et au-dessus de ma tête, à côté de mes tempes, la sensation était bluffante ! »

Le principe du son binaural est de spatialiser le son afin de donner à l’auditeur l’impression d’être au cœur de la scène en lui restituant les variations d’intensité sonores liées à la distance, la position (à gauche, à droite) et la localisation (en haut, en bas, devant, derrière). La technique binaurale vise à obtenir une reproduction proche de l’écoute naturelle en se basant sur les caractéristiques psychophysiologiques de l’audition humaine. La reproduction de l’image sonore perçue est alors comprise par le cerveau comme étant en trois dimensions : on utilise ici davantage le cerveau que nos oreilles pour entendre en 3D!

Certains auteurs retrouvent les fondements de ce procédé dans l’invention en 1881 du théâtrophone par l’ingénieur Clément Ader qui proposait aux auditeurs abonnés d’écouter les œuvres de l’Opéra Garnier en se collant un combiné téléphonique à chaque oreille, chaque combiné correspondant à un côté de la scène. Si les origines lointaines remontent à la fin du 19ème siècle, beaucoup de chemin a été fait depuis et la grande majorité des sons crées pour le jeu, principalement grâce au concours de France Culture, spécialiste en son binaural, ont été traité de manière informatique par le biais d’algorithmes qui spatialisent le son temps réel.

 

© Dowino 2014

Alors défi réussi ?

En privant le joueur de ses repères visuels pour lui proposer une expérience sensorielle inédite, en sensibilisant à la condition des déficients visuels à travers un jeu prenant et novateur, A Blind Legend a rencontré un beau succès critique, aussi bien en France qu’à l’étranger (tous les dialogues du jeu ont également été enregistrés en version anglaise). Disponible sur Apple Store, Google Play Store et Steam, le jeu connaît également un joli succès public auprès des joueurs puisqu’il a été téléchargé plus d’un million de fois à ce jour et continue de constituer une des références vidéoludiques en matière de son binaural. Un exploit notable pour un petit studio indépendant !