High-tech

Could Self-Focusing Glasses Soon be the Answer for Presbyopia Sufferers?

At the MIDO Eyewear Show 2019 in Milan, start-up Morrow Optics showcased technology that could make life easier for presbyopia sufferers: smart self-focusing glasses.

Towards a world of presbyopics

Over time, the eye progressively loses its ability to focus, which creates difficulties seeing objects close to you. This means that after the age of 40, even reading a simple magazine often needs to be done at arm’s length. The younger generation might laugh, but not for long: there’s no escaping presbyopia, it affects all of us. Optical start-up Morrow Optics might just have a solution however, with a new concept for self-focusing glasses that can focus in seconds.

Morrow Optics at the cutting edge

Jelle De Smet and Paul Marchal (former director of Imec, a Belgian research institute specializing in nanotechnology) are behind the innovative new idea. Their start-up, Morrow Optics, has created a “pair of active glassesthat imitates the eye’s natural functionality, meaning that sufferers no longer have to juggle different pairs of spectacles,” explains Paul Marchal. And as progressive lens wearers know well, having to use a separate pair of reading glasses is not ideal.

morrow-optics-lunettes-autofocus-banniere-02

© Morrow Optics

How do self-focusing lenses work?

At first glance, Morrow Optics glasses look like any others. But look more closely and they are equipped with nanotechnology hidden in the arms, that can switch on and off a correction for presbyopia at a touch. “Our approach is all about integrating an active, nanotechnology-based element into the lens, which means that the lens can be adjusted for different situations,” explains Morrow Optics CTO, Jelle Desmet.

 

Morrow optics FR

morrow-optics-lunettes-autofocus-fond-video

Available from late 2019

Although it’s a well-developed concept that has already attracted plenty of investor interest (Morrow Optics has raised €10.4 million to date), these glasses of the future are not yet on the market. If you’re interested you’ll have to be patient, as for the moment, Morrow Optics is still researching partnerships with independent opticians. EYESEEmag will be back with the details as soon as the intelligent glasses are available for a test-drive.

High - tech

Intelligence optique, bientôt des lunettes autofocus pour les presbytes

La start-up Morrow Optics a présenté au salon mondial de l’optique 2019 de Milan une technologie qui pourrait faciliter la vie des presbytes : des lunettes autofocus intelligentes.

Demain, tous presbytes

Avec le temps, l’œil perd progressivement sa capacité à faire la mise au point, entrainant ainsi des difficultés à voir de près. Résultat, après 40 ans, la simple lecture d’un magazine se fait généralement à bras tendus. Les jeunes générations peuvent bien se moquer, mais pas pour très longtemps : la presbytie touche absolument tout le monde. Partant de ce constat, la start-up Morrow Optics a eu l’idée suivante : créer des lunettes autofocus qui font la mise au point instantanément.

Morrow Optics : au cœur de l’innovation

Jelle De Smet et Paul Marchal (ancien directeur de l’IMEC, un institut de recherche belge, spécialisé en nanotechnologie) sont à l’origine de ce concept innovant. Morrow Optics, c’est « une paire de lunettes active qui imite le fonctionnement naturel de l’œil et qui permet d’arrêter de jongler constamment entre les lunettes », raconte Paul Marchal. Les porteurs de verres progressifs le savent bien : avoir des lunettes de lecture en plus n’est généralement pas un luxe.

morrow-optics-lunettes-autofocus-banniere-02

© Morrow Optics

Comment fonctionnent ces lunettes autofocus ?

Au premier coup d’œil, les lunettes Morrow Optics ressemblent à des lunettes « classiques ». En réalité, elles sont équipées d’une nanotechnologie sur les branches qui permet de mettre en place une correction pour la presbytie en une simple pression. « Notre approche consiste à intégrer un élément actif dans le verre, à base de nanotechnologie. Cela permet ainsi au porteur d’ajuster sa vue à chaque situation » explique Jelle Desmet, CTO de Morrow Optics.

Morrow optics FR

morrow-optics-lunettes-autofocus-fond-video

Une commercialisation attendue pour la fin 2019

Même si le concept est déjà bien rodé et qu’il attise la curiosité des investisseurs (Morrow Optics a levé 10,4 millions d’euros), ces lunettes du futur ne sont pas encore sur le marché. Si elles vous intéressent, il faudra donc être patient. Pour le moment, Morrow Optics cherche encore à nouer des partenariats avec des opticiens indépendants. Mais promis, EYESEEmag ne manquera pas de vous tenir au courant dès que ces lunettes intelligentes seront commercialisées et que nous aurons pu les tester.